Yoggie projects

While trying to solve some booting problems, here are ideas for SOHO projects:

  1. Use the two Ethernet NICs as bridge and run Wireshark on them for the passing traffic. Save the capture data on an SD card.
  2. Use a Tor client and a minimal desktop environment (browser, what else?). Save the work files on SD card.
  3. Make that damn SD card slot work 🙂
,

  1. #1 by sambartle on December 20, 2008 - 9:07 pm

    #1 is exactly what I had in mind when I bought this device.. not sure that wireshark is the right choice though.. maybe something smaller and text based/console like TCPDump which you can then import the captures…

    Getting the SD working is the first step though

  2. #2 by txlab on December 20, 2008 - 10:15 pm

    I don’t see a big problem with getting SD to work. The only “big” pbstacle is that the bootloader ignores the keystrokes. That means, I have to solder more pins for JTAG access, and fix the bootloader first. I expect the latest kernel to work with SD cards easily.

    As it’s not a highest priority project for me, I don’t know when I finish this.

  3. #3 by zachar on February 10, 2009 - 10:26 am

    I make the uart connections with the max3232 IC from the yoggie debug board schematics…

    I connect a cisco console cable to the serial2 and to my notebook. But when I power on the yoggie I see strange characters in my terminal software (minicom)… It looks like speed mismatch… But i use 115200 8n1 (from the yoggie documentation)…

    Did you make somewhat else, like it was in the documentation?

  4. #4 by zachar on February 10, 2009 - 11:53 am

    I found the solution… I made a mistake in the schematics…
    But I modified the inittab and now it wouldn’t boot 😦

  5. #5 by zachar on February 16, 2009 - 1:07 pm

    Please send me or post here/in the forum the original inittab from the yoggie soho…

    Thx,
    Balázs

    • #6 by txlab on February 16, 2009 - 1:17 pm

      heh, I disassembled my lab recently, as I don’t have much interest in these devices any more… I believe the original files should be available in the SDK package that Yoggie has prepared for download?

  6. #7 by zachar on February 16, 2009 - 1:33 pm

    no they don’t give us the original rootfs content… 😦

    please send it (inittab) to me when you have enough time…

    thanks,
    B

  7. #8 by noname on February 18, 2009 - 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

